Posted in Books, Reviews

SRP Review: We Interrupt This Date by L.C. Evans

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

Now on to the review:

At many times, I wasn’t sure about Susan (Nic as the hero calls her) ever becoming a self-rescuing princess. Yes, she rescued others but did so in a way that stopped her from having a life outside of being an ordered around superhero. Her overzealous helpful nature made turned her into a damsel in distress because her choices were dictated by others. Susan dropped everything in order to put others first even when there wasn’t a real need for her make herself second. At times, I felt like Susan was turning into a martyr … and wondered a few times if she kind of enjoyed that status.

I wanted to throttle Susan many times. I wanted to scream at her. I wanted to reach through the Kindle and grab her, attempting to shake some sense in her. Other times I cringed and gently laid the Kindle down and walked away … not because the writing was horrible or Susan made such an irrational choice but the fact that I saw a little of myself in Susan.

Well, I don’t want to give away too much and ruin the book for anyone so I’ll refrain from giving examples. In the end, I see Susan taking the path to turn herself into a self-rescuing princess and taming her natural damsel-in-distress side that she didn’t fully understand resided in her.

What I loved best about Susan was her willingness to admit that she helped create the drama she wanted no part of … well at least a little less part of because family and friends can always add a little drama and flair to life. Not bad things as long as other people’s dramas don’t become the sole focus of your life.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

