Posted in Books, How To, Writing

Editing Round Two

I’m deep into the second round of editing for my WIP, at the half-way point of a 340 page manuscript. For me, the second round is when I start inputting all the written changes from my first edit. This time there were a lot of changes, more than I’ve had in previous books. Matter of fact, there was one change that I made that I’m now undoing becayse as I made my way to the end of the manuscript, I realized the ‘slight change’ had over complicated the suspense plot and took the solution down the road to ‘coincidence city’. The solution for that ‘correction’ was simple enough … kill off a different character. It brought the plot back into focus, cleared up another issue that I had noted, and put the heroine and hero smack dab into the situation in a manner in which they hadn’t been previously (suspects instead of just stumblers-upon-the body all because the new now deceased had a run-in with the protagonists).  

Yeah! Problem solved. Everything was going great with the edit, moving along and a great pace. I was looking forward to having this round of editing done by the end of the day when all of sudden … my mind kept returning to the beginning of the book. There’s a change that keeps popping into my head and distracting me from a new scene that I need to write. Now, normally I’d just stop the forward progression and go back to that part of the book and make the change. But this time, the change would require a lot of rewriting as it shifts the plot of the book.

Right now, I’m leaning toward going forward with the editing and just jotting down the idea (in case it does decide to leave me alone).  At this point, I’m not sure if the new direction will make the book stronger or not. Part of me says yes. Another part of me isn’t quite as sure and feels it will be easier to determine once this round of editing is finished. The truth is I’m not looking forward to a(nother) massive rewrite, but if that is what needs to be done for the book to reach its full potential … well, I’ll just have to moan, groan and whine a little and then get on with it.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

