Posted in Everyday Life, Photography

Decorating for Christmas

November has been a busy month with NaNoWriMo (won’t make the goal), marketing two books, Thanksgiving preparation, banquets and gathering supplies for Christmas craft projects and shopping for gifts. In a few short days, December will be upon us and I’m excited. I love seeing all the decorations for the holidays and am starting the process of decorating our home. I’m not into decorating for Easter, spring, summer, Halloween, or fall but I love to get the house all dressed up in its Christmas finery. This year, I even bought some holiday themed sheets to go on my bed.

I love the lights, inside and outside, our two trees (one snowpeople and nutcracker themed, the other hodge-podge) and my nativity collection. My two favorite new items is my Mickey Mouse Carousel blow-up for the front yard and the Fisher Price Little People Nativity. I’ve been trying for years to find that particular nativity and finally was able to get one this year.

We’re a little behind schedule as the house is usually completed the day after Thanksgiving but with other projects and events happening, my decorating time got pushed back a little. We’re also trying this year a less chaotic and stress-inducing approach for turning the house into a Christmas wonderland. My husband is bringing down a box or two at a time and once those items are arranged, the empty storage boxes go back up into the attic and another one (or two depending on the size of the container) comes down to sort through then arrange into a magnificent Christmas display. It does take a little while because I add to our collection every year and it seems to be outgrowing our house. With everything I’ve found (some I forgot I had), I might be able to decorate our house and also my daughter’s house. I do feel a little bad for the decorations that will have to go back up into the attic unused this year.

 But not this awesome reindeer my daughter made (who’s now a junior in high school) when she was in the third grade. It will always have a spot of honor on the television cabinet. I love it! How can a person not be filled with Christmas and holiday cheer looking at that smiling face?

For those items heading back into the attic, there is hope for their inclusion in next year’s display as I’m planning on including two additional rooms to the decorating schedule … the craft/kids’ computer room and my office. I’ll have an ‘official’ office rather than a large closet converted into an office. As my oldest is married and moved out, I’ll be ‘taking over’ her room and that will give me another space to decorate and a large closet to store items in. I’m thinking 3 trees next year. I’ve already jotted down a few items I need to look for during the after-Christmas sale so I can outfit an entire room with little cost. Though, it might cost a little more as I’m thinking of going with a Disney Holiday theme for that room.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

