Posted in Everyday Life, Holiday

Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party 2010

A little over a year ago, my husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary by embarking on a two-week trip. We were both in the Army when we got married and with Desert Shield/Desert Storm going on at that time, no honeymoon for us. As a belated honeymoon, and to celebrate 20 years together, we decided to go on a magical vacation to Orlando then take a week cruise. Okay, the whole Disney portion of the trip (included the week-long Disney cruise) was my idea. Fortunately, my husband was willing to fulfill my desire of witnessing Disney Holiday Magic and added it to our trip.

I love Disney and Christmas decorations so going to Disney to see all the holiday splendor was a match made just for me. That required delaying our trip a few weeks so the Christmas decorations would be up at Disney World. I figured we might as well wait two weeks so we could see the Christmas decorations and attend the parade. What could be better than Christmas-time at Disney World! Well, besides having the family with us, but I’m not keen on taking teens out of school. And, my teens weren’t too interested in holiday magic Disney style so they were okay (happy) to skip a trip to watch a Mickey Mouse parade and stay at home with Grandma.

For me, there is something magical about Disney and Christmas time.  Disney World is the one place where I find that my concerns and anxieties about everyday life melt away and I feel like a child. And it might be said I act like I am a child, as I get so excited and giddy when I see the big overhead sign letting everyone know they have arrived to the happiest place on Earth. I clap and even bounce in the seat a little. There’s just something about Disney that warms my heart and makes me feel younger, carefree, and … I guess in way … protected from being judged. It’s a time and place where it’s ‘right’ for adults to allow some of their child-like spirit out and to not have to focus solely on being the grown-up. It’s okay to be excited and overjoyed at being in a fairy tale setting, seeing characters, going on rides and having fun just having fun.

We had went to Disney World in mid-December when our children were younger and the one thing I regretted not doing was Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas parade. The first time we went, our youngest was 2 1/2 years old and staying out that late didn’t seem like a wise choice but I always wished we had gone. So, this time around we attended the party. Yup, just the husband and I … well, and hundreds of other guests. I had an awesome time and my husband had fun too. I don’t know if he’d say it was awesome, but I know he had a great time and enjoyed it. It was a perfect night, not too hot or cold, ate a wonderful dinner at Tony’s, and found a great spot to watch the parade.

My husband took the photographs as he’s a foot taller than I am and it’s easier for him to get better shots. I’ve added a few of our favorite pictures. When we saw this picture with Santa, my husband and were I little baffled. We were very well-behaved that night, so I don’t know why Santa thought a little ‘call  out’ in our direction was in order. It must have been the people besides us.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

2 thoughts on “Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party 2010

  1. Christina – Sounds like you had a great time. Linda. Sandra, and I went to Disneyland on New Year’s Eve in 1999-2000. It was crazy. It was so crowded, you couldn’t stop on the sidewalks anywhere along the area of the fireworks show. They had people telling you to keep moving. Wouldn’t ever go on New Year’s Eve again. Merry Christmas.

    1. One year I want to go to Disneyland as I haven’t been there yet, but not on New Year’s Eve or any other big day (I hear Halloween is super crowded also). I love how Disney celebrates the holidays but I try to go when the crowds are down. It’s the reason we didn’t wait and just go when the kids were out for the winter break.

Leave a Reply

