SRP Review: Holiday Edition I- The Killer Wore Cranberry, The Perfect Christmas and Christmas in Bayeux

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

During this month, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

Now on the reviews:

The Killer Wore Cranberry is a short-story anthology published by Untreed Reads. These mystery stories are centered around Thanksgiving, food, the wonderful and not so wonderful family moments that make up the cherished time of year we call the holiday season. Every story brought me to another family’s dinner table and I experienced their holiday drama with them. The stories were also clearly set during Thanksgiving and added to the atmosphere. It was a great book to read during Thanksgiving as the length allowed me to finish a complete story during the small amount of time I had for a ‘reading break’ during the dinner prep. I got my anticipated reading time in and didn’t lose track of the story. Mysteries and suspense are my favorite types of books to read and I really enjoyed the humorous tone of this collection. I prefer my  holiday reading to be heartwarming rather than heart-wrenching and the voices used for the stories fit that bill. A delightful collection that I know I’ll be reading again next year.

My next choice was The Perfect Christmas by Debbie Macomber. This was a romance story set during the Christmas season. A woman in her thirties is longing for marriage, children and the perfect Christmas, decides to take the drastic step of using a professional matchmaker to have her dream come true. This was a sweet story with some laughs and many heart-warming moments. The matchmaker has the heroine complete different holiday tasks and through them, the heroine learns a lot about herself. The holiday spirit was alive in well in the book, not just with the holiday tasks featured, but in seeing how the heroine grew during the story. I won’t be surprised if this is another Debbie Macomber book that’s turned into a movie. And if it is, I’ll be watching.

 

After that, I chose Christmas in Bayeux by Stephanie Burkhart. This was another holiday story set during the Christmas season. Our hero, an Iraqi war veteran, goes to France to heal after the death of his parents. He decided to travel abroad to reconnect with a friend he had in high school. This story was a lovely portrait of the holiday season being part of the reason for two lonely people to explore their feelings for each other. The way the couple involved each other in their holiday customs was heart warming and brought home the spirit of the holidays — love, sharing, and extending kindness. This romance does have some steamy moments.

2 thoughts on “SRP Review: Holiday Edition I- The Killer Wore Cranberry, The Perfect Christmas and Christmas in Bayeux

  1. Christina, thanks so much for reading and writing a review on Christmas in Bayeux. I really appreciate it and I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

    Smiles
    Steph

  2. Pingback: It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like | The Self-Rescue Princess

Leave a Reply

