Posted in Books, Heroine Interviews

Interview: Melanie Robinson, heroine from A Scandalous Design

Today on my blog, I’m going to talk with Melanie Robinson, the heroine of  A Scandalous Design.

1. Please tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life?

Melanie Robinson on the road to London meets a widowed French woman and a handsome aristocrat. The first she makes a partner in a clandestine business venture. The second she hopes will become her partner in love for life, if she can reconcile her need to create with her love’s strict social requirements for his bride.

A handsome rogue enters the picture when the arrogant lord makes a misstep, leaving Melanie the object of gossip. Lord Pearson returns to town thinking he has lost his love, while Melanie assumes he is upset over her business ventures.  Can the handsome lord manage to recapture his love’s attention or will she turn to the man who best understands her unusual ambitions.

2. What made you want your story to be told?

During this time in history, which is early 1800 while our beloved king’s son, the Regent, is on the throne, women have many restrictions. However we sometimes still have creative ambitions. A female must needs find a way to fulfill a life’s desire and still find a suitable mate without creating scandal. 

3. What lead you to make the changes you did in your life?

I cannot justify why I am so rebellious. I do not wish to cause embarrassment to my family or my intended. Goodness, certainly I do not want to hurt my James’ mother. She is so very nice. How would it look if she, a noblewoman, knew I had engaged myself in trade? I seem to be driven inexplicably to express myself in clothing design.

4. In your life, what has empowered you?

My mother and father both hold enlightened views. My mother, poor lady who has left us too soon–she was the daughter of an earl—had conflict with her parents in choosing marriage to the 4th son of a baron. She left me and my sisters ample funds to make our own choices or not. My father is a vicar. He is a gentle man who wishes only for his children to be happy. He believes we will be guided by our consciences and our faith in our Lord.

5. What are strengths and weaknesses?

Talents are God-given, you know. My father always believed that and so do I. Society dictates that women will be happy only as wives and mothers, but some of us have talents which cry out to be expressed. I am drawn to fulfill that desire, but I long to be accepted by my peers as well. It is an ever present conflict.

6. Describe what being a self-rescue princess (a strong, confident woman) means to you.

I am blessed with, well some say that I am favored with pleasant good looks. You know, of course, that good works must always be present. I hope I have always made a place in my heart for those less fortunate. My friend Marie would say that I am a wise female as well. I do know that I am driven by ambition. Perhaps that is not always an asset. I have sometimes taken too many risks, but I have had help along the way. You will frown to know that I borrowed money from a known rogue, although he was a perfect gentleman. The thought crossed my mind that I might enjoy being married to him.

7. What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto young women? 

Make room always for love in your heart and strive to know your true self as best you can.

8. Favorite quote or Bible verse.

“Be still and know that I am God.”

9. Will you be continuing your journey in written form?

‘The Vicar’s Daughters 3’ is a series of three books which narrate the adventures of my two sisters and I. A PASSIONATE LOVE, which is about my eldest sister Frances who always wanted to be a good wife and mother, my story which you already know about, and BELINDA, MY LOVE, the tale of my youngest sister who has ambitions to heal the sick. The three of us are around in each others’ stories.  They can be found at MUSA PUBLISHING. Another book to be released later this summer, BELOVED SOLDIER RETURNS, allows you to take a peek at me and my siblings after we are married and have families. It is a poignant story about a poor wounded soldier and how he finally made his way back home to those who love him.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

One thought on “Interview: Melanie Robinson, heroine from A Scandalous Design

Leave a Reply

