Posted in Books, Reviews, Writing

SRP Review: Portrait of a Dead Guy by Larissa Reinhart

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had time to read. I missed reading. Missed spending time with heroines and heroes I hadn’t written. I wanted to meet new people rather than just spending time with ones I knew. A situation hard to work around when an author has two books coming in November. Editing took precedence over a lot of other areas in my life. Reading being the main one.

I was so excited when I completed the manuscripts and knew I had time to fall into a book. I needed a heroine who could make me laugh. One who had a unique way of viewing the world, situations, and even in how she reacted to them. A heroine who embraced herself, flaws and all, even when being truly, completely herself brought out judgments and made people question if she ever had been introduced to common sense.

Cherry Tucker was just that heroine. She knew how others viewed her and her family, yet remained true to herself and didn’t allow anyone to influence how she thought of herself — and her family. I have a feeling Cherry was able to brush off attitudes toward her because she accepted and admitted her own faults instead of denying them. I think this self-acceptance made Cherry able to accept others for who they were.

I love this attitude of Cherry’s and wished I could be the same. She doesn’t hold others responsible without also holding herself accountable for what happened. I love her honesty and the way she lives from her teenage mistakes — even when she can’t live them down. Cherry faces her troubles head on, giving everything she can to right the wrongs she feels are being committed. I’m looking forward to seeing Cherry in action in future stories and how she grows from her experience of tangling with a murderer.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

One thought on “SRP Review: Portrait of a Dead Guy by Larissa Reinhart

Leave a Reply

