Posted in Heroine Interviews, Uncategorized, Writing

SRP Heroine Interview: Jenny Moore from Undercover

Today I’m speaking with Jenny Moore, the heroine from the novel Undercover by Maria Hammarblad.

1. Please tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life?

I was sitting at work one day, pretty bored at that, when this amazing man appeared by my desk. You know the kind: tall, handsome, foreign… I had to figure out a way to talk to him, of course, so I made the guys invite me for lunch. He was interesting and charming, and had a great accent, and as the day went by, I sort of fell for him. He seemed to like me too. Then, I discovered that he was a Russian spy.

2. What made you want your story to be told?

It’s exciting. And, I want everyone to know that love really conquers all. It doesn’t matter where you go or what you do as long as you have your loved ones there. True love is worth risking everything.

3. What lead you to make the changes you did in your life?

Oh, I had to. All the stuff he went through for me, you wouldn’t believe it. We have kids too, couldn’t let them be separated from their dad… I had to do everything I could for them. It was really scary at times, especially when I had to break Alex — that’s my husband — out of jail, but there’s nothing more important than family.

4. In your life, what has empowered you?

Breaking free from my first marriage. That taught me I really could stand on my own two feet and do things for myself. My job too. There’s nothing like solving a really tricky problem that seems impossible. The key is to believe in oneself. Even if you don’t believe in yourself at that very moment, pretend you do. If you can at least pretend to be on top of things, your mind will believe you.

5. What are strengths and weaknesses?

I am a little airheaded at times. Alex says it’s cute, but it sure gets me into trouble, and it keeps people from taking me seriously, even though I’m smart. I’m pretty brave too. I didn’t think I would be, but when push comes to shove, I have it in me. If you don’t believe me, try to touch my family. I dare you! Should I add feisty to the list?

6. Describe what being a self-rescue princess (a strong, confident woman) means to you.

It means everything. There’s no other way to live. How do you get through life without being able to do things for yourself?

7. What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto young women?

Believe in yourself. You are great. No one else will believe in you or give you a chance if you can’t.

8. Favorite quote or Bible verse.

Ooh, I’m pagan so I don’t really read the bible. Favorite quote… Dalai Lama said, “Be kind whenever possible. It’s always possible.“ I like that one.

9.  If your story had a theme song, what would it be?

So many to choose from… I’ll go with Mother Dawn by Billy Idol. It’s upbeat and happy, and the lyrics fit my journey so well. The character in the song has to go through the night and uncover the mysteries hidden there before he can come out on the other side, where the dawn meets him with sunlight.

10. Will you be continuing your journey in written form?

Maybe… There’s lots of story left to tell, but one never knows what goes on in my writer’s head. She’s really unpredictable.

11. Is there anyone in your life (friend, family member) who will be sharing their life in a book? 

My daughter wants one. She claims she’ll be kidnapped and locked in a box on some boat by people wanting to sell her as a slave. I think she’s just talking, but it might happen. If it does, I hope Alex and I taught her to take care of herself. I’d be proud if she kicked the kidnappers somewhere it hurt.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

