Posted in Books, Reviews, Writing

SRP Review: The Goodbye Quilt by Susan Wiggs

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

This heroine review is going to be unlike any other I’ve written because I’m going to be talking about two characters, Linda and Molly. The reason this is unusual is Molly, the daughter of Linda, isn’t a point of view character so I only got to know her through Linda. Linda is the point of view character and while I enjoyed getting to know her, Molly is the character in The Goodbye Quilt who stuck out to me and made a place for herself in my heart.

I did like the main character, Linda, and enjoyed seeing her change and come into her own as she struggled to find a ‘new life’ and purpose for herself. Linda had jumped into the role of mother with her whole heart and now found herself kind of forced into a new role…which she wasn’t sure what it would be…when her daughter graduated from high school. What I really liked about Linda, and made her a self-rescue princess, is that she kept those ‘parts’ of herself she liked even though others felt she needed to branch out more. Linda grew while still staying true to herself at her core, which isn’t always and easy thing to do.

I’m thinking Molly resonated with me more because I have a daughter who will be graduating this year and will be venturing out on her own. I loved seeing Molly through her mother’s eyes and watching as Linda discovered the strength in her daughter. I held my breath at times as I waited to see what choices Molly would make, especially when she was pulled in two different directions. To me, Molly is a self-rescue princess because she stood up for herself and made her wishes known. What I really liked was how Molly made her decisions and voiced them in a strong and respectful way. It’s not always easy to get your point across to the people you love. Being able to do is while keeping your temper and attitude in check is a necessary skill and I believe a truly admirable quality.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

