Posted in Books, Craft, Heroine Interviews, Scrapbooking, West Virginia, Writing

SRP: Heroine Interview: Faith Hunter from Cropped to Death

 Today, I’m going to do something a little out of the ordinary, and something I usually only do at home, which is talk to myself…in a way. I’m interviewing Faith Hunter from Cropped to Death which releases today, November 20. I found that I got to learn a little more about my character by making ‘her’ answer the following questions. I hope you enjoy the interview.

1. Please tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life?

My friend and co-worker Marilyn has been arrested for murdering her cheating husband. I don’t think Marilyn did it but the police do, thanks in part to what Marilyn told me that I had to repeat to the bossy homicide detective. Because of ‘my role’ in her getting arrested, Marilyn expects me to find the real murderer. I told her that just because I served in the JAG Corps of the US Army doesn’t mean I’m qualified. Unfortunately, the ‘qualification’ Marilyn is concerned about is the fact I snitched on her and she expects me to make this right.

2. What made you decide to take on such a risky endeavor?

Detective Roget and guilt. If he hadn’t arrested Marilyn, I’d never would have gotten involved. Of course, that would’ve been because Marilyn wouldn’t have been implicated in her husband’s murder because of what I was forced to tell the detective.

3. Did you ever imagine yourself being involved in fighting crime?

No. And I still can’t believe I got involved in it. When a person is trying to hide their past, annoying police detective’s and an assistant prosecutor (even when he is your friend and neighbor) is not a good plan. Unless your plan is shoving your skeletons out of the closet.

4. Who would you say is the least pleased about your additional career choice of amateur sleuthing? Or is detective work your only career?

The least pleased? I’d think my grandmothers Hope and Cheryl and Detective Ted Roget would have to argue that one out. And Steve. He didn’t like me inserting myself into the case anymore than they did. I guess they could all draw straws or something…

5.  What are your strengths and weaknesses?

My strengths and weakness seems to be the same thing, my loyalty to my family and friends. I’d do anything to help my family and friends even if it puts me in physical and emotionally danger. This amateur sleuthing might very well get me cropped from life or expose the one part of my life I don’t want anyone…especially my grandmothers…finding out about. But, I wouldn’t make a different choice. I can’t. It’s kind of hardwired in me.

6. Describe what being a self-rescue princess (a strong, confident woman) means to you.

Honestly, I think I’m still trying to figure this out. I always considered myself a strong woman because I didn’t need anyone and only relied on myself. Sounds strange considering the fact I work for grandmothers. But I’m starting to think the reason I rely on myself is because I’m too scared to trust anyone else. I don’t want to live from fear so I’m working on that. Hopefully with more success in the near future.

7. What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto young women?

Know who you are getting involved…especially before you up and marry them.

8. What was one lesson you learned during this challenging time in your life?

Your greatest ally can turn out to be the most unlikely person.

9.  If your story or life had a theme song, what would it be?

Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) by Kelly Clarkson

10. Do you plan on dabbling in amateur sleuthing in the future, or have you hung up your detective hat?

I don’t plan on getting involved in detecting work again…unless it’s hunting down the next scrapbook trend. I don’t like meddling in other people’s business because it gives them permission to mess around in yours. I just hope everyone else in town realizes that just because I served in JAG doesn’t mean I yearn for a life of crime-solving and danger.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

