Posted in Books, Holiday, Reviews

SRP Review: Holiday Edition I: Christmas Letters, One Imperfect Christmas, and The Christmas Lamp

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

During the holiday season, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

I’m a little behind in my holiday reviewing, though not in my holiday reading. I’m taking a little break from editing and writing to bring you the first batch of holiday stories. I hope you find one to add to your reading list.

christmas lettersChristmas Letters by Debbie Macomber is a romance novel set during the Christmas season. A quick, easy read that gave me the feel good feeling I so enjoy in books this time of year. The heroine writes Christmas letters during the holidays for extra income. She makes people’s lives sound more interesting and the troubles they face not sound as hopeless. I picked up the book thinking her job would be the main point of the story, an interesting take on a seasonal job, but it’s actually the hero’s job that causes the conflict. The hero is a renowned child psychologist who has some strong ideas about how to rear children and isn’t fond of Santa Claus. I love the exchanges between the couple and how they worked to get to know each other without their differences being the only way they defined each other. The holiday spirit is alive and well in the book. A sweet read that had me smiling and falling into the season.

one imperfect christmasMy next read was One Imperfect Christmas by Myra Johnson. The story is set from a few days after one Christmas until the following Christmas day. It follows the full year for the heroine who is devastated by her mother’s stroke. The cover looked cute and cheerful, and with it being a book I downloaded on my Kindle no blurb to read, so I wasn’t expecting a heart-breaking family drama type of story. At first I didn’t find the heroine very likable, but she grew on me. The author did a good job of showing how a person’s personality and outlook could change after a traumatic event and how coming back to themselves took. I don’t want to give too much away, but the story did end on an upbeat note…for those like me who prefer a cheerful tale around the holidays. It’s about a family trying to stay together as they fall apart and how the holidays can be a stress and a healing within a family.

the christmas lampThe last book for this first edition of holiday reviews is  The Christmas Lamp by Lori Copeland. This is a contemporary romance tale set in a town called Nativity where Christmas is the town’s identity and biggest draw. The small town struggles when a new highway diverts traffic away from them and the holiday shoppers forget to stop there. The heroine finds herself at odds with a business consultant who arrives to help them find ways to save money. She sees his cost-cutting measures, eliminating some of the town’s Christmas traditions, as ripping away the heart and soul of the town rather than a means to save it. This was a lovely story with a nice message about remembering traditions without having them become the only meaning of Christmas.

 

If you have a favorite Christmas/holiday story please leave the title in the comments. I’m always on the lookout for another book to add to my growing collection.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

