Posted in Books, Holiday, Reviews

SRP Review: Holiday Edition II: Blue Christmas, Bah, Humbug!, and The Christmas Singing

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

During this month, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

blue christmasToday, I’m starting with Blue Christmas by Mary Kay Andrews. Family holiday drama (of both the holiday and general type), a holiday decorating contest between stores, and a small mystery on the side made this a must read book for me. I love the ‘war’ the heroine has with her neighbors and fellow business owners in town. It never crosses into dangerous territory so keeps a fun light-hearted spirit in the book. The humor in the book also helps a serious family issue become a heart-warming issue. The description of the window display is wonderful and the vintage Christmas decorations talked about in the book makes me want to go on the hunt for some. The heroine is the perfect mix of spunk and tender-hearted. I love getting to know her and want to read more about her life and journeys.bahhumbug

The next book is right now my favorite read this holiday season, Bah, Humbug! by Heather Horrocks. This book would make a great Hallmark Christmas movie. I could just picture this story on the television. I loved how the author weaved a serious issue with funny moments. The hero isn’t a Christmas guy and once the reader knows why he and his family just go through the motions, your heart will ache for them. I love how the heroine kindly, and with sass, pulls him into the Christmas spirit. The hero at first comes across rough and tough but his tender side springs up pretty fast. I loved the banter between the hero and heroine, ‘watching’ them together always made me smile. I will admit this book has one of my pet peeves (won’t mention so I don’t give away the story), but the author made me love these characters so much (hero and heroine plus the supporting cast) that I didn’t care.

Christmas SingingThe last book I’ll be talking about for this edition is The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall. I enjoyed this book, but must say it’s more of a book set during the Christmas season rather that a Christmas story.  The reason I believe this is because Christmas itself didn’t play a major role in the story, and this is based on my personal ‘definition’ of Christmas stories. After a fire destroys the heroine’s bakery, she returns home to rest and recuperate from the trauma. I did like that the heroine wasn’t the usual heroine I read in Amish stories. She had a lot of fire to her and wasn’t so easy to be ‘won’ over when wronged. While home, she lands up spending time with the boy she had loved and had left her…but not for the reason she always assumed. I loved the details at the sweetness in the story. It was just the type of book I had wanted to read, angst but not too much.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

One thought on “SRP Review: Holiday Edition II: Blue Christmas, Bah, Humbug!, and The Christmas Singing

Leave a Reply

