SRP Review: Holiday Edition IV – Harlequin Holiday Collection, The Do’s and Don’t of Holiday Parties, and Hurry Less, Worry Less at Christmas

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

It is that time when my holiday reading comes to a close. After New Year’s day, I just can’t get into the mood of reading holiday stories. It’s one of my quirky traits. I didn’t get as much reading as I’d have liked this holiday season, so many more books are still left on my to read list. This year, I’ll try harder to have projects wrapped up before Thanksgiving so I have more reading time. I had a wonderful holiday season so I can’t really complain…when one’s only complaint is not enough reading time then it’s been a great holiday season.

I’m looking forward to all of the other books waiting for me on my Kindle and on my book shelves. What to pick, what to pick? Before I get distracted with new reading, I’ll do my final Holiday Review for the holiday season of 2012.

harlequinholidaycollectionThe first book I’ll be talking about is a collection of four short stories titled The Harlequin Holiday Collection.The four stories in this collection are And a Dead Guy in a Pear Tree, Seduced by the Season, Evidence of Desire, and Season of Wonder. My two favorite stories in this collection were And a Dead Guy in a Pear Tree and Season of Wonder. What I like most about collections is there is usually a story (or more) that each reader will enjoy. I found the first and last story in this collection really drew me in because the Christmas season was a strong element in the story and that’s what I really look for during this time of year. And the first one had me giggling which is a huge plus as I love humor in holiday stories.

I try to get a few non-fiction books in and this time they came at the end of my reading list. Next was The Do’s and Don’t of Holiday Parties by Jacqueline dosanddon'tsofholidaypartiesWhitmore. Every year, we throw an ornament exchange party and I wanted to get some new ideas for next year. There were a few tips I picked up, but for the most part the items mentioned were things I had read or heard about before. Now, I do read a lot so I picked up my information here and there throughout the years, it’s nice having it all in one book. I did like the separate section for office parties as they should have a different focus and ‘rules’. If you’ve been thinking about hosting a party and not sure where to start, or what you might be getting into, this is a great book to read.

hurrylessworrylessThe last book I read this holiday season, and the one I wished I read first is Hurry Less, Worry Less at Christmas: Having the Holiday Season You Long For by Judy Christie. Many times when I was reading this book, I found myself having to slow down so I could savor the words and the feelings. I wanted to take my time and allow the advice to soak into my brain and heart. This is also one of my favorite reads this year. I plan on starting next year by reading this book, but I’ll read a chapter every few days so I can remind myself to slow down next year. I do want to let readers know that this book does have scripture references and stresses the religious aspect of the Christmas season. I do think that no matter how you celebrate the Christmas season, this book will help give you ideas on how to make the season what you’d like it be.

One thought on “SRP Review: Holiday Edition IV – Harlequin Holiday Collection, The Do’s and Don’t of Holiday Parties, and Hurry Less, Worry Less at Christmas

  1. Pingback: It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like | The Self-Rescue Princess

Leave a Reply

