Posted in Books, Craft, Scrapbooking, Writing

Project Life – Mystery Writer Style

Writing a book and having it published was a dream of mine since I was in the ninth grade. It has come true a couple of times. There was also a year or two in my journey where I wondered if I’d give it a try again.  (I had a slight hiatus between books … won’t go into that long story.) I’ve been in love with books as far as I can remember and love the industry as a whole. And as how it can happen with love, there are rough spots and sometimes it can be unrequited.

Like my heroine Faith in the Scrap This Mystery Series, my mind has a tendency to remember the downs and gloss over the ups. I think it’s because I don’t want to repeat mistakes so my mind keeps those in an easy to find file in my brain. It’s good … then again it’s not where you’re in a business where a daily roller-coaster ride is pretty much a given.

I had started a scrapbook to journey my writing career years ago but have allowed it to become stuck in the mid-2000s. I took a look at it and realized that I was doing a lot of showing of events and not enough telling of the journey and process. I missed showing the “business/book” milestones along the way. It’s like I was afraid to brag in my own book. I want this scrapbook to be not only a way for my children and grandchildren to know who I am and what I do, but also as a reminder for myself during those times when I’m on the stomach-dropping down portion of the ride in the wonderful, unpredictable world of publishing.

PL Cropped to Death for Blog 075 PL Amazon Cropped for BlogFor a few months, I’ve been intrigued with the Project Life style of scrapbooking. I prefer doing layouts the “traditional” way for trips and family pages but thought it be perfect for documenting my writing. It gives me enough space to tell the stories, and by doing it in a 8 1/2 x 11 inch size, could double as a resume/calling card.

I worked on a few pages last week and love how they turned out. Now, I plan on going back and “Project Lifeing” my other books and my journey as a mystery and suspense writer.

(My son had tons of storage pages for his baseball cards and let me have a few of them. For the second page, I “broke” some of the seals so I could have some large spaces to work with.)

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

