Posted in Books, Heroine Interviews, Writing

SRP Heroine Interview: Jaya Jones from Artifact

Today at the Self-Rescue Princess, we have Jaya Jones from Artifact: A Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery stopping by to chat. Welcome…

Artifact-Cover-Henery-Final-WEBRES-RGB1. Please tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life?

I received a mysterious package containing a jewel-encrusted artifact from India, sent by my ex-boyfriend the same day he was run off a coastal road in the Highlands of Scotland. I’m the only one who believes it was no accident.

From my university teaching job in San Francisco, to the British Library in London, to an archaeological dig in the Highlands of Scotland, I’m setting out to find out what happened: the secrets of a long-lost Indian treasure may be hidden in a Scottish legend from the days of the British Raj.

I had help solving the mystery: Helping me decipher the cryptic clues were my magician best friend, a devastatingly handsome art historian with something to hide, and a charming archaeologist running for his life.

2. What made you decide to take on such a risky endeavor?

At first I wasn’t sure about getting involved. Then my apartment was burglarized and my friend injured in the process. That was when I knew I was getting pulled into the mystery regardless of what I wanted.

3. Did you ever imagine yourself being involved in fighting crime?

I still don’t think of myself like that. Not really. But as a historian, when there’s a present-day crime that’s linked to a historical treasure, I’m uniquely positioned to figure out what’s going on. And, even though I’m reluctant to admit it to my colleagues, treasure hunting is pretty fun.

4. Who would you say is the least pleased about your additional career choice of amateur sleuthing? Or is detective work your only career?

My best friend Sanjay is terribly worried about me. He’s like a brother to me, so he’s over-protective.

5.  What are your strengths and weaknesses?

I recently finished my first year as a university professor, and my specialty is Indian history, especially the British East India Company. Piecing together history requires figuring out where the pieces of a puzzle fit together. Being good at this type of academic research has turned out to mean I’m also good at research that has more immediate relevance to the present.

Physically, I’m a lot stronger than you’d guess from looking at me. When my dad saw that I wasn’t going to make it to five feet tall, he drove me all around the Berkeley area taking different martial arts classes.

Because I know what I’m good at, I don’t always ask for help when I need it. I like being independent, but I need to learn when to rely on my friends.

6. Describe what being a self-rescue princess (a strong, confident woman) means to you.

Being strong and confident encompasses both mental and physical strength. Believe in both your mind and your body.

7. What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto young women?

Trust in yourself and in your instincts. Know you can achieve anything you set out to do. I didn’t start college until I was ready to do so in my 20s, and now I have a PhD.

8. What was one lesson you learned during this challenging time in your life?

I didn’t plan on falling for a guy at this point in my life, and I certainly didn’t plan on it being a guy like this… But somehow it was right. I’ve learned to be open to life’s experiences.

9.  If your story or life had a theme song, what would it be?

Chaiyya Chaiyya Bollywood Joint. It’s an incredibly danceable Indian song with a rap interlude. It’s a mash-up between Hindi and English / East and West, just like me.

10. Do you plan on dabbling in amateur sleuthing in the future, or have you hung up your detective hat?

I was planning on hanging up my hat, but it looks like the publicity from finding this treasure might pull me into future treasure hunts…

Read Artifact:

Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Artifact-Jones-Treasure-Mystery-ebook/dp/B0091WB0SO/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1375399969&sr=8-1

Amazon paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Artifact-Gigi-Pandian/dp/1938383680

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/artifact-gigi-pandian/1109686236?ean=9781938383687

Learn more about the author, Gigi Pandian:

Website: http://gigipandian.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GigiPandian

Facebook: http://facebook.com/gigipandian

Blog: http://gigipandian.blogspot.com/

Want to read more Jaya Jones?

Sign up for Gigi’s newsletter to receive an exclusive Jaya Jones Halloween short story this October: http://gigipandian.com/newsletter

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

