Posted in Books, Holiday, Reviews

SRP Review Holiday Edition (Part 1) – A Christmas Story, Let it Sew and Never Noelle

During the holiday season, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

A christmas storyA Christmas Story by Jean Shepherd 

A Christmas Story is one of my favorite holiday movies. The season doesn’t seem complete until I watch it one time (or an entire day…usually my go to “wrapping presents” movie). I enjoyed the book but as it was a compilation of articles, it didn’t have the beginning-to-ending story flow like the movie. Some of the events in the books were changed to fit into the time frame the movie takes place (Christmas time). I had to “get over” the fact that the book wasn’t like the movie and enjoy the stories as themselves rather than parts of the movie.

It was a great book to start my holiday reading as the humorous tone, and images of the movie playing in my head, put me into the holiday frame of mind.

Now on to my next reading choice…a Christmas mystery.

let it sewLet It Sew by Elizabeth Lynn Casey

Let it Sew is part of the Southern Sewing Circle series. This cozy mystery takes places in a charming town called Sweet Briar. I enjoyed the characters and the setting. As I prefer “lighter” (not graphic) stories during the holiday season, this book fit right into my reading needs. It was a smoothly written story with endearing “real” characters. Not everyone got along all the time, but when their traditions are threatened the members of the sewing club band together.

This story was set over the holiday season and it had  mix of mystery drama and holiday angst. There was a nice balance of both so neither overshadowed the other.  I will admit that I preferred the mystery side of the story over the holiday angst one. I don’t want to give away any of the story, so I’ll just mentioned that when the holiday issues impacted children negatively I find myself talking…very loudly…to the book. It was heart tugging and I like the theme that is revealed at the end…I don’t want to mention what it is as it might give away the story. And I must admit, now I want to go make cookies and stockings.

Never NoelleMy next, and last read for this edition, is Never Noelle by Pam Andrews Hanson. This is a Christian/inspiration romance set around Christmas time. Along with the hope of rekindling a past romance, there is some family angst between the hero and his father, the pastor of the church where the heroine works. Sometimes family angst in holiday stories can get a little “over the top” and be so intense a story can have a dark mood about it (what I steer away from during my holiday reading time). I liked how the family issue was handled in Never Noelle. It was heart tugging but didn’t overwhelm and leave me feeling melancholy. It was natural and handled in a very respectful way. I loved seeing the preparation for the holiday events and how it brought people together. If you enjoy a sweet holiday romance then this is would be a good book for you.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

One thought on “SRP Review Holiday Edition (Part 1) – A Christmas Story, Let it Sew and Never Noelle

Leave a Reply

