Posted in Books, Holiday, Reviews

SRP Review Holiday Edition (Part II): Mistletoe Magic, Where Angels Go, Heartache Motel

During the holiday season, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

I can’t believe it’s almost Christmas Eve and I’ve only had three books reviewed for this holiday reading season. Unfortunately, a few weeks ago I somehow tweaked the muscles in my shoulder and neck and reading (having to hold my neck down a little) is what causes the most amount of pain. I’m starting to feel better so have been able to increase my reading time. Here are some of the books I have been able to get through in the last few weeks:

Mistletoe MagicMistletoe Magic by Melissa McClone

This was a sweet Christmas romance story. Caitlin finds a tiny kitten and takes it to the vet to get it checked over…and unexpectedly runs into someone from her past. This was a heartwarming short-story that takes place on Christmas Eve. There was minimal angst in the story (which was wonderful as some days I want touching, funny stories) and it just wrapped itself around me. Both the leads were likable and I found myself rooting for them. If you need a quick dose of holiday magic, this short story would be perfect.

Where Angels Go by Debbie Macomber.Where Angels Go

This story is about three ambassador angels going down to Earth to each answer a prayer is set during Christmas time.I usually love Debbie Macomber’s Christmas stories…not that I thought this one was horrible…but I found the sadness of one of the three storylines overwhelming for me. I knew going into the book that one of the resolutions was possible, but I held out hope. All three of the stories connected at the end, and I wish the stories weaved together a little bit throughout the book. Also, for the one situation in the story I found it was left unfinished and would have loved to see the actual ending. (If I mention the details, I’m afraid I’ll give the story away).

Heartache MotelLast of my reviews for this editions…and definitely not least is Heartache Motel by Terri Austin, Larissa Reinhart, and LynDee Walker. These are three short stories featuring different heroines which are set around Christmas time (but not the same Christmas) at the Heartache Motel in Memphis.

This anthology includes the stories Diners Keepers, Losers Weepers by Terri L. Austin, Quick Sketch by Larissa Reinhart, and Dateline Memphis by LynDee Walker. I want to go to Memphis during Christmas time after reading this anthology, though I’d pick a different motel to stay at. Each story in this book had its own voice, even though all three contained humor, mystery, and a strong, sassy heroine. I loved how the setting and time frame was a true part of the stories and not a gimmick. These three mysteries wouldn’t be the same if they were someplace else or at a different time. And, I must admit I’d love to get one of Cherry’s holiday wear creations. I’m one of those people who actually adore and wear Christmas theme sweaters.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

One thought on “SRP Review Holiday Edition (Part II): Mistletoe Magic, Where Angels Go, Heartache Motel

Leave a Reply

