Posted in Books, Reviews

SRP Review: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Disclaimer: The reviews I post on The Self Rescue Princess won’t be the usual style of book review that talks about all the points and elements of a novel. My intention is to focus on heroines that I believe exemplify the spirit and character of a self-rescuing princess or are on their way to achieving that status.

Last year, I let my reading time get away. I was downhearted in December when I checked my Goodreads reading challenge and realized how far behind I was to reach my goals. I didn’t even read half the books I’d have liked. This year, one of the changes I’ve made is spending more time reading books rather than boards. Now, I’m working on my next goal and that’s putting my thoughts into my blog as I missed reviewing.

Dark PlacesA heroine I haven’t been able to shake since I finished her story late Sunday (technically Monday) is Libby Day from Dark Places. I’ll admit that when I first started reading, I considered stopping. Libby’s voice was so personal. Authentic. Raw. A little too raw and authentic. Not that there was a lot of foul or offensive language but that Libby told her thoughts and feelings even when she knew they’d make her unlikable to others. At times, I got the feeling that her thoughts made her unlikable even to herself.

Knowingly flawed. That was Libby Day. I admired that about her, even when I didn’t have a lot of respect for her choices and actions. Libby knew she should do better. Be better. Be more. It was her willingness to acknowledge her flaws that made me emphasize with her. She wasn’t the heroic, tragic victim worthy of being adored. She was wounded. Hardened. Bitter. Jealous. She knew her thoughts weren’t the correct ones to have, but she never tried telling herself they were okay.

Libby finds herself challenged by a group who believes her brother was innocent and didn’t kill her family, as Libby believed and testified to 25 years prior. While she is angered by the idea, Libby decides to see if there is any truth in the theories. I found her to be a self-rescue princess during her journey because of her willingness not only to see the good and bad in others, but also in herself. Sometimes the hardest person to be honest with is ourselves and Libby never watered down her own thoughts about her behavior or opinion of her own thoughts.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

