Packing for a Crop – Step Three: Packing the Car

 Step Three: Packing the Car

2014-09-25 19.27.02I just completed the last step of going away for a weekend crop retreat: packing the car… also known as the trunk edition of Tetris. It is a game of skills and patience as a cropper tries to fit a small store of scrapbooking supplies into their car. Oh, and clothes. I’ll be adding my Vera Bradley weekender tote into the car tomorrow morning. It goes in the back passenger seat.

The first thing I do is bring all of my boxes, totes, etc and placed them behind the car. I like to get an overview of everything before I start loading up. Like with preparing for a crop, I divided the packing into three sections: books, scrapbooking, and yard sale items. I’m having the book launch for my newest scrapbooking mystery at the retreat, so I have extra items to bring along. I was a little worried about this as the car is usually tight when I’m just bringing scrapbooking goodies. I had no idea how this was all going to work. I decided to put the books in first as I knew none of those boxes could be left behind if worse came to worse and I had to do another purge. Fortunately, the boxes fit together perfectly in the back row of the trunk.

After the books were snug in the trunk, I moved on to the scrapbooking items. My hope was that I could get my paper tote, Cameo, and my Scrap This tote (that’s the name embroidered on the bag) in front of the boxes. The Malibu has two side pockets and I used them for my the box with my photos, lamp, and a hard-case paper storage container. 2014-09-25 19.36.03

I was so happy that it all fit like it went in like I envisioned (doesn’t usually work that way). Next, I put my quilted bag which holds my white storage carousel. I’ve traveled before without putting it in a bag and it didn’t work out to well. One of the little drawer got jostled open and brads were everywhere in the trunk, so now I make sure it’s contained. I had an empty sticker binder and paper pack I was bringing for the yard sale at the retreat and put those on to of the Cameo. Nothing too heavy and it also braced the white container that was on the boxes.

2014-09-25 19.38.56All I had left was the remaining items for the yard sale. I put those boxes on the back passenger floor. I try not to place items on the seat because they can slide off and hit into the back of the driver’s seat. I hate driving and having something continuing to bump into me or fall onto the floor and make a loud sound. The box I left on the seat has old magazines and idea books. I figure if those tumble off, it won’t be too loud and if they get damaged, I’d be okay with it. And I put the wire hanging rack for my storage unit in the back seat. It takes up too much trunk space and I’m concerned it’ll get broken when I close the trunk.

The last remaining item is what I call my traveling buddy and it goes on the passenger seat. 2014-09-25 19.39.47It was a gift from the last crop I attended. It comes in handy when I driving long distances. I hook up my iPod to the car stereo and hate when it slides around so I put it in one of the slots. I also keep my sunglasses case in another and a snack. It keeps everything I might need while driving close at hand and out-of-the-way. 

Soon I’ll be on my way to the Heavenly Scrapbooking Retreats crop. I can’t wait to start cropping!

 

Leave a Reply

