Posted in Disney Layouts, Scrapbooking, Vacations

Incorporating FE Gifts Into Layouts

When we went on a Disney Cruise, we joined the FE group and received many awesome gifts. While some never made it off the ship (candy, snacks for movies, and Glo sticks), and others are being used (like my awesome scissor protector, photo frame, and chalk board), there were other gifts I wanted to save and display, but was afraid they’d get lost or ruined by having them out. I wanted a way to showcase and keep them protected.

For those who are wondering what is an FE (fish extender), it is a fabric bag with pockets…similar to a shoe or jewelry organizer…that is hung from the fish that is outside the door of the cabins on a Disney cruise ship. Christmas Themed FEThe fish is a large hook type decoration that is used to hold messages from the Disney crew members (like reminders for booked appointments). Fish Extenders can be handmade, re-purposed items like tote bags and organizers, or bought from seamstresses (usually can be found on Etsy or small business pages on Facebook). The gifts placed in the pockets range from handmade items, items unique to the state or country the participant is from, to treats to enjoy on the cruise.

The picture frame and the bookmark were also FE gifts. I don't usually use titles on portrait pages, but this bookmark worked as one. And, I was able to save it. Since the bookmark is laminated, I used photo corners to attach it to the page.
The picture frame and the bookmark were also FE gifts. I don’t usually use titles on portrait pages, but this bookmark worked as one. And, I was able to save it. Since the bookmark is laminated, I used photo corners to attach it to the page.

I’ve been working on our Disney Cruise album for a while and am now scrapbooking the professional photos we had taken on the cruise. Most of the pictures are self-explanatory, and also are 5×7 or 8×10 so I didn’t feel these layouts need a title and I use only one picture on a 12×12 scrapbook page. I realized these layouts were perfect for adding in our memorabilia, and that some of our FE gifts were perfect embellishments.

I store all of our memorabilia and FE gifts I wanted to save in a plastic box and bring it out when I’m scrapbooking. When working on a layout of one of my favorite pics…me and Captain Mickey…I knew it was the perfect page to also show off one of my favorite FE gifts, a lovely bracelet.

This  beautiful bracelet was one of our FE gifts. I was afraid it would get lost or broken if I wore it, so I included it as a border on the layout. I used Mickey brads to hold it onto the page.
This beautiful bracelet was one of our FE gifts. I was afraid it would get lost or broken if I wore it, so I included it as a border on the layout. I used Mickey brads to hold it onto the page.

I used the bracelet as a border on the bottom of the page, making sure to drape it to create some movement on the page as all the other elements were straight lines (frame, bookmark, and border around the page).

Me and Mickey

 

 

Here is my completed page of Captain Mickey and me along with some of our FE gifts. I used a simple style for the layout as I wanted to keep the focus on the picture and also the lovely gifts. 

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

