Posted in Books, Holiday, Reviews

SRP Review Holiday Edition (Part I): A Nutty Nutcracker Christmas, How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, and The Christmas Bake Off

During the holiday season, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

a nutty nutcracker christmasFirst, I’m going to start with a children’s book that I read this holiday season: A Nutty Nutcracker Christmas. I’m going to add one new to me children’s book to my reviewing schedule every holiday season. I really liked the take on the Nutcracker story which incorporates video games. I read the book on my Kindle and would love to see the print version of the book. I loved the pictures on the Kindle Fire and know they have to look so much better on the printed page. (I was sick at the start of this holiday season so I checked out books through Overdrive.) It was an engaging story that can be completely read at one bedtime. It wasn’t scary and had the perfect mix of humor and message.

The next book is How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas by Fiona Gibson. I’d classify this story as having taken place during Christmas Eve/Christmas rather than one which showcases the holiday spirit. The story is about Anna meeting her boyfriend’s parents for the first time. how the inlaws wrecked christmasWhile the events happen on Christmas Eve, the focus of the story is on Anna and Ben’s relationship and realizations that are made during the time rather than on the holiday. It’s a quick read and I think it does portray though how sometimes it’s during the holidays when we truly come to know and understand a person and our role in their life.

the christmas bake offThe last book for this post about my holiday reads is The Christmas Bake Off by Abby Clements. The story is set in Skipley village during the annual Christmas Bake Off. The reader gets to meet a few of the residents and might, like me, come to root for all of them to win the bake-off. There was a reason that I wanted each of the contestants I met to walk away with the win. Unfortunately, there is some ‘grinchy’ competitive spirit and some sabotage occurs. The truth is found out and not all is what it seems. This was a cute story filled with holiday shenanigans along with holiday spirit and some romance. I enjoyed this short story and it was what I needed (great mix of humor, town coming together, and romance) when I was feeling under the weather. Helped put some holiday spirit into me. Also, this story does include some recipes at the end.

Stay tuned to the Self-Rescue Princess for more holiday book reviews. One of the books to be featured next week is Mrs. Miracle. And, if you have any suggestions for holiday books please feel free to list them in the comments. I’m always on the look out for the perfect holiday/Christmas story.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

