Posted in Books, Holiday, Reviews

SRP HOLIDAY REVIEW HOLIDAY EDITION (PART III): The Santa Shop, An Avalon Christmas, and A Victorian Christmas

During the holiday season, the reviews I post on The Self-Rescue Princess will have a different focus as my reading habits change. From Thanksgiving until the New Year, I only read novels set during the holiday season or have a seasonal theme. The Holiday Edition reviews will focus on the holiday spirit in the stories, and I plan to review more than one book in each post. I decided to go with more than one because I find I read more at this time and I want to share as many holiday short stories, novellas and books that I can during this time frame.

This is my last Holiday Review Edition for 2014, I had wanted to post before 2015 but family activities took precedence. I was happy to get in a little more holiday reading this year than last, and hope that I’ll get even more holiday reading at the end of this year (though I really don’t want to ruminate long on this year ending as it has just begun).

the santa shopThe Santa Shop by Tim Greaton was a different type of Christmas/holiday read for me. I do my best to steer clear of darker stories around the holidays. I like the books I choose to be more light-hearted and have a humorous rather than serious tone. The Santa Shop, while not depressing or dark as in creepy way, it started off with a sad tone that grew more hopeful as the book went on. In a way, that is how the holiday season goes for some people, sad and stressful and growing into a more hopeful and restful time. I like how the book had a message without the reader receiving a lecture. Even when Skip was at the point of giving up total hope, he still clung to some and was able in his darkest hour to look past himself…and that to me is one of the true, loving spirits of the Christmas season.

After reading The Santa Shop, and I decided to go for something that had a little more of a happy tone and that built on the feeling of community that was in the end of the Santa Shop. I wanted to keep that feeling going. I read An Avalon Christmas by Darien Gee which is a collection of short stories that connect with each other through the town of Avalon.an avalon christmas The stories are a mix of longing, people searching for a connection, and of reaching out. The stories have a sweet spirit and all the point-of-view characters come away with a better understanding of themselves and their role in the world. All of the stories are set around Christmas time and show some of the holiday spirit that blossoms at that time of year.

 

 

a victorian christmasMy last holiday read of the year was A Victorian Christmas by Catherine Palmer. This book, like An Avalon Christmas, is a collection of short stories but in this book they aren’t connected. The stories are set in the Victorian times and are set at Christmas time. There is a strong Christian message in each story so for those readers who prefer non-religious holiday stories, this book might not be to your liking. For those readers who enjoy Christmas stories that reflect strongly the religious meaning of Christmas, this is a wonderful book and will be inspiring and uplifting.

 

 

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

