Posted in Books, Heroine Interviews

SRP Heroine Interview: Ivy Meadows from The Sound of Murder

sound of murderWelcome to the Self- Rescue Princess, Ivy, please tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life? 

Though I’ve been pursuing my acting and P.I. careers, it’s been a little crazy since my apartment caught on fire (did you know that firefighters won’t let you back in your apartment to get your clothes? Not even your undies?) But things are looking up: I met the nicest fireman, got a great housesitting gig, and landed my first P.I. case, a suicide in the retirement community where I’m housesitting. My acting career is really taking off, too. A big New York producer is coming to Arizona to see me in the world premiere of The Sound of Cabaret (singing nuns AND Berlin burlesque).

Now if I could just get over my little fear of singing in public. And stop worrying about my cast mate, Marge, who seems awfully forgetful lately. And fix my car, which seems to be catching on fire even more than usual. And ditch the posse member who’s following me. Then I have just one more thing to do–figure out why all of this seems to be connected to that one simple suicide case…

Did you ever imagine yourself being involved in fighting crime?

No. But when my friend and fellow actor, Simon Black died of an apparent alcohol overdose during a production of Macbeth, I knew something wicked this way came. After all, Simon had turned his life around. I knew he wasn’t drinking any more, no matter the evidence. My Uncle Bob—a P.I., my part-time employer, and the nicest guy in the world—agreed to investigate. But after someone poisoned my uncle’s Big Gulp, it was up to me to find the killer (you can read about the case in a book called Macdeath).

During that adventure, I discovered a taste for detecting. And though I’m still mostly on admin duty at Uncle Bob’s P.I. firm, I’m really excited to work my first case. I know I’m going to be a great detective. After all, it’s in the genes.

Describe what being a self-rescue princess (a strong, confident woman) means to you.

I love that term—a self-rescue princess. I was always annoyed at those fairytale characters who waited for something to happen to them. “Go out and make it happen!” I wanted to shout. I made my life’s dream come true. When I decided to make theater my profession, my parents weren’t exactly thrilled (my parents aren’t thrilled with me in general, but that’s another story). There was no money and no support. But I made my way. Sure, I’m still driving old cars and eating lots of beans, but I am an actress!

What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto young women?

Channel one of my heroes, Helen Keller, who said, “Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.” Be daring.

If your story or life had a theme song, what would it be?

“I Have Confidence” from The Sound of Music. Julie Andrews/Maria may skip and swing her guitar case, but she’s singing to give herself confidence before a big adventure. That’s me—a little scared of leaping into the breach, but confident that things will somehow turn out all right (you can see why my #2 theme song is “Cockeyed Optimist”)

Do you plan on dabbling in amateur sleuthing in the future, or have you hung up your detective hat?

Funny you should ask. My uncle just got a call from Get Lit!, a book-themed cruise line (they’re the ones who had the husky incident on the S.S. Jack London). Seems there’s a theft ring onboard the ships, and they’d like the pair of us to go undercover on their Charles Dickens-themed boat. My uncle will pose as a wealthy guest, while I’ll work as an actress, playing Nancy in Get Lit’s version of Oliver Twist. It’ll be like a paid vacation with my favorite person in the world, plus a lead role, AND a $10,000 bonus if we crack the case. And we’re just talking about theft, so the job shouldn’t be dangerous…right?

If you’d like to read Ivy’s adventure, you can pre-order The Sound of Murder at these places (release date is Oct 6, 2015):

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1eJbMu3

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1JWrYmG

iTunes: http://apple.co/1Rm90wD

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1LYt2K0

And if you’d like to read Ivy’s previous adventure, you can get Macdeath at the following places:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

iTunes

Kobo 

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

One thought on “SRP Heroine Interview: Ivy Meadows from The Sound of Murder

Leave a Reply

