Posted in Uncategorized

Travel Journal

2015-11-09 14.55.40As you’re reading this, my husband and I are relaxing on a deck of a cruise ship (or at a wine tasting depending what time you’re reading the post) to celebrate our 25th anniversary. One of the issues I’ve had when we’ve returned home from a vacation was not remembering all those little details I swore I’d never forget. Between so many new experiences and adventures added to my memory, getting back into the swing of things at home, and catching up on work projects, I don’t have the time when I return home to jot everything down. And, I always seem to lose the pieces of paper that I’ve written down notes and stories about our trip. So many of our scrapbooks have journaling holes.

This time, I decided to bring along a travel journal as it should be a little harder to lose the whole entire book. I didn’t want to bring along a lot of supplies so I decorated a few of the pages and added dates and itinerary. I love the double-sided pen that came with the book. One side is the pen and the other a glue stick. I’ll be able to paste down any memorabilia I collect on the trip. 2015-11-09 14.54.47

Part of my evening during our trip will be devoted to jotting down the story of our day. I want to do it while it’s still relatively fresh in my mind. I made sure to leave plenty of pages blank between days so pictures can be included once we get home. 2015-11-09 14.55.01

I’ve never used a journal before. Usually I take photos and then create a scrapbook. Sometimes I can start an album right after the trip, other times it’s a few months before I can begin the project (or years later and some of the memories are forgotten). It can also take some time to finish all the layouts I want to include in a scrapbook. My last vacation scrapbook took me about 18 months and turned into three albums. We like to take a lot of pictures. For the journal, I’ll use minimal embellishments and have it be a place where I document the stories and include a few pictures, kind of like a picture book.

I’m looking forward to trying something new and being able to do some crafting on the ship. I’m not foregoing doing a traditional scrapbook of our anniversary cruise–I love to scrapbook–but hope doing this now will help make sure I have all the stories I want to tell when I do have time to make an album.

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

