Posted in Books, Heroine Interviews, mystery, Uncategorized

SRP Heroine Interview: Mia Connors from a Geek Girl’s Guide to Arsenic

geek guide arsenic  large banner335

I’d like to give a warm welcome to Mia Connors. Thank yo so much for stopping by The Self-Rescue Princess today to tell us a little bit about your new adventure.

geek girl's guidePlease tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life? 

It’s been three months since Jake Archer rolled into town, accused Mia Connors of murder and stole her heart. She hasn’t heard from him since. So when a man collapses at the fall Renaissance Faire, she’s surprised to see the US marshal arrive on scene. And shocked when he points the finger at her—again. Mia would sooner be able to resurrect the poor fellow than poison him.

Jake Archer’s career has been rising fast, but it’s about to come to a crashing halt. The Ren-Faire victim was in protective custody—Jake’s custody—and they were painfully close to nabbing a major crime boss. If Jake doesn’t solve the murder soon, he’ll be fetching donuts instead of protecting his nation. A difficult enough task without the alluring Mia Connors in the way.

Working with Jake to catch the killer might push Mia into crazy-cat-lady territory. But with a murderer on the loose—and Mia’s reputation on the line—they’ll have to work fast to find the killer before the killer finds them.

What made you decide to take on such a risky endeavor?

I have intense natural curiosity, that’s probably a big factor, plus this time I couldn’t help getting involved. John was a friend of mine and he died right in front of me. Then, a big mouth reporter said I might’ve poisoned him, and everything got worse. Jake showed up and told me to stay out of it…I don’t like to be told what to do…

Did you ever imagine yourself being involved in fighting crime?

Sure! Doesn’t every girl? Though, I’d imagined myself as more of a super hero than an amateur sleuth, and I thought the gig would come with a cute costume and new boots. So, overall, this has been a bit of a fashion let down.

Who would you say is the least pleased about your additional career choice of amateur sleuthing? Or is detective work your only career?

Oh, no. I have lots of careers. I’m IT manager at the gated community where I live, and I’m the CIO and face of my family’s company, Guinevere’s Golden Beauty. I’m also going into business with my best friend, Nate, so there’s that, and as the only single person in my pathologically co-dependent family, I run all the random errands and fill in the gaps as needed.

Jake is definitely the least pleased about my sleuthing. I think he doesn’t like it when I beat him to the clues, though he calls it “interfering in a federal investigation.” I guess, the killers probably don’t like it when I start digging either. I always find them, and they go to jail.

What are your strengths and weaknesses?

I’m crazy smart. Loyal. Dedicated and hardworking, but I suppose, I can be a bit obstinate, especially when I’m being challenged.

Describe what being a self-rescue princess (a strong, confident woman) means to you.

Everything. This Disney mentality is bunk. I mean, why wait on a man to save you when you’re perfectly capable of saving yourself? What makes them the rescuers and us the ones in distress? Excuse me, but why am I cast as the underdog because I came with internal genitalia? Being a self-rescue princess means accepting and embracing the strong, intelligent, fully capable woman you already are.

What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto young women?

Oh, I have so much to say to young women. Where to start? How to summarize. Okay, first, you are beautiful, and you are fierce, and anyone who says otherwise obviously has their own problems because why would they lie to you like that? Secondly, we are clearly the superior gender. Don’t let anyone fool you. Don’t believe me? Take your mother on vacation for two weeks and see what your Dad looks like when you get back. Probably like he was stranded on a deserted island instead of ten minutes from the grocery store and thirty feet from the shower. The last time my dad left my mom alone for two weeks, she started a small business and turned the upstairs junk room into a ladies’ lounge, complete with wine bar and Hallmark Television. So, I’m just saying, if you’re a young woman reading this, you should know, the only limits you have are ones you set yourself. And PSA: Limits aren’t all bad, ladies. Make good choices out there.

What was one lesson you learned during this challenging time in your life?

I learned to trust my instincts, and that it’s okay if I’m not able to explain why something feels right or wrong, as long as I respect the vibe and listen.

If your story or life had a theme song, what would it be?

I’m not sure. Did I Love Lucy have a theme song? Because I’m identifying strongly with her character’s life right now.

Do you plan on dabbling in amateur sleuthing in the future, or have you hung up your detective hat? 

Oh, I’m definitely finished sleuthing. Totally out. This experience has been terrifying, and I don’t like being abducted. No more of that for me. – Unless I discover a dear friend of my grandmother’s drowned in the local lake soon and need to help find him justice…. A Geek Girl’s Guide to Justice releases October 2016 *stage wink*

Enter at the link below for a chance to win a Prize Package from Julie Anne Lindsey including send a copy of Murder by the Seaside & Murder in Real Time, plus a Lord of the Rings PEZ set and $15 Starbucks card

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792288/

 

Author:

Mystery and Romantic Suspense Author

Leave a Reply

